This is a research guide based on cited documentation. It is not a report of firsthand testing. Our editorial method

What this comparison covers

This guide compares three noise-removal approaches using the Audacity manual, Descript's help center and pricing page, and Adobe Podcast's plans page, read on 13 October 2026. It is based on official documentation, not our own listening tests, so it makes no claims about which tool sounds best on a given recording.

Who this is for: podcasters and tutorial creators with a fan, room tone, hum or traffic under their voice. Who can skip it: anyone whose recording is clean enough that noise is only audible in solo headphones. The cheapest fix is still recording in a quieter space.

Audacity Noise Reduction: free and profile-based

Audacity's manual describes a two-step process. First select a region that is only noise, at least 2048 samples and preferably longer, and click Get Noise Profile under Effect > Noise Reduction. Then select the audio to clean and apply the effect. The profile is not kept after you close Audacity. Defaults are 6 dB of noise reduction, sensitivity 6.00 and frequency smoothing of 6 bands, and the manual notes higher smoothing tends to favor spoken word. [1]

The manual's advice is to use the lowest reduction value that brings noise to an acceptable level, and the lowest sensitivity that removes noise without artifacts. It warns that higher values than necessary 'will result in damage to the audio that remains', that artifacts sound like random bursts of very short tones, and that the effect works poorly on very loud or variable noise. [1]

Descript Studio Sound

Descript's help center describes Studio Sound as an AI effect that enhances spoken voice, reducing noise, echo and distractions. You toggle it in the Properties panel under Audio Effects, it needs an internet connection, and it applies at the file level, so every use of that file in the project changes. An Intensity slider controls how much enhancement is applied. [2]

Its troubleshooting notes matter for over-processing. If a waveform goes flat or silent, the page says the recording likely has very loud background noise that Studio Sound could not separate from speech, and advises lowering Intensity or turning the effect off for that file. On current plans the feature uses AI credits. [2] If you export a timeline to another audio editor, Descript's timeline export article says Studio Sound files are exported as separate source and Studio Sound files with volumes set to match your intensity, and notes that in at least one editor only the 0% or 100% version comes through by default. [3]

On 13 October 2026 Descript's pricing page listed Studio Sound as Limited on the Free plan and Included on Hobbyist, Creator and Business, with Free at 60 media minutes per month and 100 one-time AI credits. Paid plans started at 16 USD per person per month on annual billing for Hobbyist. [4]

Adobe Podcast Enhance Speech

Adobe Podcast's plans page lists Enhance Speech, and for the premium tier states 'Enhance up to 4 hours a day, files up to 1 GB', with access tied to the Adobe Firefly Pro plan. On 13 October 2026 that page did not list free-tier limits or a standalone premium price, so check your account's usage panel before planning a long batch. [5]

Side-by-side summary

What each official page states. 'Not stated' means the page did not say. [1][2][4][5]

ToolMethodStrength controlPlan limits stated
Audacity Noise ReductionNoise profile, then reductiondB, sensitivity, smoothingFree software
Descript Studio SoundAI speech enhancement, file levelIntensity sliderLimited on Free; included on paid plans; uses AI credits
Adobe Podcast EnhanceAI speech enhancementNot stated on plans pagePremium: 4 hours a day, 1 GB files

Processing order and over-processing pitfalls

Audacity's manual says to do any notch filtering or click removal before noise reduction, and to apply compression and other effects after it; amplifying or normalizing can go before or after. [1] We would follow the same order regardless of tool, and leave loudness normalization as the last step, as covered in our loudness targets guide.

  • Process one copy, keep the original untouched.
  • Use one denoiser, not two stacked on the same track.
  • Listen on headphones and speakers; watery or lisping consonants mean too much.
  • Process each speaker's track separately when you have them.
  • Fictional example: a host runs Studio Sound at full intensity and then Audacity Noise Reduction on top. The voice turns metallic. Backing off to one tool at a lower setting is the fix. This example is invented.

Our verdict

We would start with Audacity because it is free and the manual explains exactly what each control does. If you already pay for Descript, Studio Sound is the convenient choice inside that workflow, at reduced intensity. Adobe Podcast is a reasonable one-off rescue for a damaged file. None of them replaces a quieter room.

Questions before you decide

Should I remove noise before or after normalizing?

Audacity's manual says amplifying or normalizing can happen before or after noise reduction, but compression should come after. We prefer setting final loudness last.

Why did Studio Sound make my audio go silent?

Descript's help page says this usually means very loud background noise that Studio Sound could not separate from speech. Lower Intensity or turn it off for that file.

Sources & verification

Product details and prices can change. Check the linked provider before buying.

  1. Audacity Manual: Noise Reduction Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  2. Descript Help Center: Studio Sound Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  3. Descript Help Center: Timeline exports Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  4. Descript pricing Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  5. Adobe Podcast plans Accessed 13 Oct 2026

Sources link directly to providers. Product buttons may use separately labeled affiliate links. Read our disclosure.

Your decision at a glance

Compare the options

Full comparison

Documentation-based guidance. No tested ranking or performance score.

Video production

Descript

Consider it for
Edit existing recordings on Free when a transcript-led cut is the job; consider Hobbyist at $24/month or $16/month billed annually ($192) for watermark-free 1080p export. Skip if your current editor already exports the needed cut and captions.
Starting cost
Free option; Hobbyist $24/month or $192 annually per person
Before you choose
Media hours and AI credits are separate allowances. Test what the free plan permits, confirm the paid export features before purchasing, and inspect the final file before delivery.

Checked 15 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Descript plans

Direct provider link; no affiliate tracking added by this publication. Link disclosure

Video production

Filmora

Consider it for
Candidate editor for existing footage. Test a representative export before moving a deadline project; ordinary trial output has a watermark.
Starting cost
Confirm current platform, billing term and optional add-ons at checkout. No promotional dollar price assumed.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand export test. Buying an editor does not automatically establish rights for every music, stock or AI asset.

Checked 19 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Filmora plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure

Video production

FlexClip

Consider it for
Candidate browser editor for a short project made from existing media. Compare export limits, stock rights and AI credits as separate decisions.
Starting cost
Free editor plan available; confirm current paid-plan checkout and AI credit costs. No fixed paid price assumed.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand export test. Free stock or generated content is not licensed for commercial use under the cited policy; uploaded media requires its own rights.

Checked 19 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View FlexClip plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure

Video production

Screen Studio

Consider it for
Optional paid macOS recorder for product demos and tutorials. Keep OBS if it already delivers the file. Confirm the live checkout.
Starting cost
Homepage offer markup lists 29 USD, checked 22 September 2026. The page also shows monthly and yearly billing. Confirm the live checkout.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand recording. Affiliate terms checked 22 September 2026 pay 15% of the initial purchase price excluding taxes, with no recurring commission. Refunds can reverse commission.

Checked 22 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Screen Studio plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure