What this comparison covers
This guide compares three free ways to record a Mac tutorial and one paid option. It is based on official documentation from Apple, the OBS Project and Screen Studio, read on 13 October 2026. We have not run these recorders ourselves, so nothing here is a measurement of image quality, CPU load or sync. Treat every claim as what the vendor publishes, and confirm the menus on your own macOS version before recording anything important.
Who this is for: people recording software walkthroughs, course lessons or bug reports on a Mac with a modest budget. Who can skip it: anyone already recording reliably in OBS whose files import cleanly into their editor.
The built-in Screenshot toolbar
Press Shift-Command-5 to open the Screenshot toolbar. On 13 October 2026 Apple's page listed three recording modes: the entire screen, a selected window (macOS Tahoe 26 or later) and a selected portion you can resize by dragging its borders. The Options menu lets you choose a microphone, show mouse clicks, set a start timer and change the save location, which defaults to the desktop. [1]
Apple's page also listed an Include System Audio option 'in macOS 27 Golden Gate or later', and on supported Macs with macOS Tahoe 26 or later a choice between SDR (H.264, labelled Most Compatible) and HDR (HEVC) capture. Recordings are saved as .mov files named with the date and time. Stop with the Stop button in the menu bar or Command-Control-Esc. [1]
If you are on an older macOS, do not assume the system audio option exists. Open the toolbar, open Options, and look before you plan a tutorial that depends on app sounds.
QuickTime Player
QuickTime Player offers File > New Screen Recording (Control-Command-N). Apple notes that the Screenshot toolbar may appear instead, in which case you follow the toolbar steps. In QuickTime's own controls you can pick a microphone, adjust monitoring volume and show mouse clicks, then click to record the full screen or drag to select an area. QuickTime opens the recording automatically when you stop. [1]
Apple's page does not mention system audio for QuickTime. If you need app sounds in the recording, use the toolbar option where your macOS offers it, or OBS.
OBS Studio on a Mac
OBS describes itself as free and open source software for video recording and live streaming on Windows, Mac and Linux; on 13 October 2026 its homepage listed version 32.2.2. [2]
For desktop audio, the OBS macOS Desktop Audio Capture Guide says OBS 30 and later on macOS 13 Ventura or higher has a macOS Audio Capture source that can capture all desktop audio or a single application. OBS 28 and 29 on macOS 13 use the macOS Screen Capture source in Application or Window mode. Older macOS versions need third-party routing software such as VB-CABLE, Loopback or Sound Siphon. [3]
OBS is the free choice when you want a webcam overlay, several audio sources, scene switching or a specific container. The cost is setup time and more ways to get settings wrong. Our OBS remux checklist covers testing the file in your editor before a long session.
Side-by-side summary
The table summarizes what each official page states. A blank or 'not stated' entry means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing. [1][2][3]
| Recorder | Region capture | Microphone | System audio | Output stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Screenshot toolbar | Screen, window (Tahoe 26+), portion | Yes, chosen in Options | Listed for macOS 27 or later | .mov; H.264 or HEVC on supported Macs |
| QuickTime Player | Full screen or dragged area | Yes | Not stated on Apple's page | .mov |
| OBS Studio | Configurable sources | Yes | macOS 13+ with OBS 28 or later | Your choice of container and codec |
When a paid recorder is justified
Screen Studio describes itself as a Mac screen recorder that handles zooms, motion, sound and framing. Its homepage says it zooms toward moments such as clicks, smooths cursor movement, and exports MP4 at 720p, 1080p or 4K at up to 60 fps, plus GIFs up to 1080p. The FAQ says it currently supports only macOS and recommends macOS 13.1 or later. On 13 October 2026 the page listed 29 USD per month on monthly billing, 9 USD per month on yearly billing, and 40% off for students and educators. Confirm the live checkout before buying. [4]
We would consider it only if you publish product demos often and currently spend real time adding zooms and cursor emphasis by hand. If your tutorials are talking-head or static slide walkthroughs, the free tools above already deliver a usable file.
- Free path: Screenshot toolbar for quick narrated clips.
- Free path with control: OBS for multi-source lessons.
- Paid path: Screen Studio when polished motion is part of the product.
A five-minute pre-flight check
Before a real session, record a 30-second test with the exact settings you plan to use: speak, play a system sound, move the cursor over small text, then stop. Open the file outside the recorder and check that voice and app sound are both present, then import it into your editor. A fictional example: a creator records a full lesson with the toolbar, assuming system audio is on, and discovers afterwards that their macOS version has no such option. A short test would have caught it before the lesson. This example is invented and not based on a real recording.
Questions before you decide
Can QuickTime record my Mac's system audio?
Apple's screen recording page does not mention system audio for QuickTime. On 13 October 2026 it listed an Include System Audio option for the Screenshot toolbar in macOS 27 or later, and OBS documents desktop audio capture on macOS 13 or later.
Is Screen Studio available for Windows?
Its FAQ says it currently supports only macOS and has no near-term Windows plans. Windows users can start with the free options in our Windows recording guide.
Sources & verification
Product details and prices can change. Check the linked provider before buying.
- Apple Support: How to record the screen on Mac Accessed 13 Oct 2026
- OBS Project homepage Accessed 13 Oct 2026
- OBS Knowledge Base: macOS Desktop Audio Capture Guide Accessed 13 Oct 2026
- Screen Studio homepage, including pricing and FAQ Accessed 13 Oct 2026
Sources link directly to providers. Product buttons may use separately labeled affiliate links. Read our disclosure.
