This is a research guide based on cited documentation. It is not a report of firsthand testing. Our editorial method

What this comparison covers

This guide compares three free ways to record a Windows 11 screen for tutorials. It is based on official documentation: Microsoft support articles, Windows Insider blog posts and the OBS Project site, read on 13 October 2026. We have not run the recorders ourselves, so there are no quality, performance or sync measurements here. Menus change between Windows builds and app updates; confirm what your own installed version shows.

Who this is for: people making software walkthroughs, internal training clips or bug reports on Windows. Who can skip it: anyone with a working OBS profile that already imports cleanly into their editor.

Snipping Tool screen recording

Microsoft's Snipping Tool article says to open Snipping Tool, select Record, then New, or press Windows logo key + Shift + R. You choose the area of the screen, select Start, and select Stop when done. You can save the recording or open it in Clipchamp with Edit in Clipchamp. On 13 October 2026 that article did not state a file format, a length limit or a default video folder, and it described audio only as an editing step in Clipchamp. [1]

The feature first rolled out to Windows Insiders in December 2022; that announcement described selecting and refining the part of the screen to record and previewing before saving. [2] An August 2023 Insider post announced 'support for optionally recording your PC audio and voice overs using a microphone' in Snipping Tool version 11.2307.44.0. [3] Those are dated Insider announcements, not a current support page, so open the recording toolbar on your PC and confirm the audio controls are there before relying on them.

Xbox Game Bar

Microsoft's Game Bar instructions for Windows 11 say to turn on Enable Xbox Game Bar in Settings, go to the game or app you want to record, and press Windows key+Alt+R to start and stop. Windows key+Alt+M toggles the microphone during recording, and Windows key+G shows the controls. To include all computer sounds, the page says to open Game Bar settings, go to Capturing and choose All. Recordings are saved as MP4 files in a Captures subfolder of Videos, named with the app and the date and time. [4]

The instructions are written around a single game or app. They do not describe capturing the whole desktop or switching between windows during one clip, and they do not state a maximum length. For a tutorial that moves across File Explorer, Settings and several apps, we would not plan around Game Bar without a test.

OBS Studio

OBS describes itself as free and open source software for video recording and live streaming on Windows, Mac and Linux; on 13 October 2026 its homepage listed version 32.2.2. [5] It is the free option when a lesson needs a webcam overlay, separate audio sources or scene changes. The trade-off is setup: you build a scene, add sources and choose the recording format yourself. Our OBS remux checklist covers the container and editor checks.

Side-by-side summary

A 'not stated' entry means the official page did not say, not that the feature is absent. [1][3][4][5]

RecorderWhat it targetsAudio per official pagesOutput stated
Snipping ToolA selected screen areaPC audio and mic announced in an Aug 2023 Insider buildNot stated on the support page
Xbox Game BarThe game or app you are inMic toggle; Capturing set to All for computer soundMP4 in Videos, Captures
OBS StudioAny source you configureConfigurableYour choice

Where Clipchamp fits

Snipping Tool hands off to Clipchamp for edits. Microsoft's Clipchamp screen recording article says a raw Clipchamp screen recording downloads as WebM, while an exported project produces MP4. For personal accounts it says audio recording only works when screen recording a browser tab, and it suggests several shorter recordings for long sessions because a maximum recording time is shown during capture. If you record inside Clipchamp rather than Snipping Tool, check those limits first. [6]

Pick, then test for two minutes

We would choose like this, with no purchase needed:

  • Snipping Tool for a single narrated region or full-screen clip.
  • Game Bar for capturing one app window quickly.
  • OBS for multi-source lessons, webcam overlays or long sessions you want full control over.
  • Before the real take, record 30 seconds with speech, a system sound and some window switching, then play the file outside the recorder and import it into your editor.
  • Fictional example: a trainer records a lesson in Game Bar, switches to File Explorer halfway, and later finds the clip does not show what they expected. This is invented to illustrate why a short switching test matters.

Questions before you decide

Does Snipping Tool record system audio?

A Microsoft Windows Insider post from August 2023 announced optional PC audio and microphone recording in Snipping Tool. The current support article does not describe these controls, so check the recording toolbar in your build.

Where does Game Bar save recordings?

Microsoft's instructions say recordings go to the Captures folder inside Videos as MP4 files named with the app and the date and time.

Sources & verification

Product details and prices can change. Check the linked provider before buying.

  1. Microsoft Support: Use Snipping Tool to capture screenshots Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  2. Windows Insider Blog: Screen recording in Snipping Tool begins rolling out to Windows Insiders (8 December 2022) Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  3. Windows Insider Blog: New updates for Snipping Tool and Notepad for Windows Insiders (31 August 2023) Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  4. Microsoft Support: Use a screen reader to record your screen with Xbox Game Bar Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  5. OBS Project homepage Accessed 13 Oct 2026
  6. Microsoft Support: How to make a screen recording (Clipchamp) Accessed 13 Oct 2026

Sources link directly to providers. Product buttons may use separately labeled affiliate links. Read our disclosure.

Your decision at a glance

Compare the options

Full comparison

Documentation-based guidance. No tested ranking or performance score.

Video production

Filmora

Consider it for
Candidate editor for existing footage. Test a representative export before moving a deadline project; ordinary trial output has a watermark.
Starting cost
Confirm current platform, billing term and optional add-ons at checkout. No promotional dollar price assumed.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand export test. Buying an editor does not automatically establish rights for every music, stock or AI asset.

Checked 19 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Filmora plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure

Video production

FlexClip

Consider it for
Candidate browser editor for a short project made from existing media. Compare export limits, stock rights and AI credits as separate decisions.
Starting cost
Free editor plan available; confirm current paid-plan checkout and AI credit costs. No fixed paid price assumed.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand export test. Free stock or generated content is not licensed for commercial use under the cited policy; uploaded media requires its own rights.

Checked 19 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View FlexClip plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure

Video production

Riverside

Consider it for
Record remote guests on the Free $0 plan (2-hour multi-track export, 720p, watermark); consider Pro at $29/month or $288 annually when watermark-free export is required. Skip if your current recorder already covers isolated tracks.
Starting cost
Free option; Pro $29/month or $288 annually in official explainer
Before you choose
Free multi-track is a 2-hour one-off export allowance with 720p and a watermark. Confirm current checkout; no recording reliability tests performed. Not a fit when you only need to edit files you already have.

Checked 15 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Riverside plans

Direct provider link; no affiliate tracking added by this publication. Link disclosure

Video production

Descript

Consider it for
Edit existing recordings on Free when a transcript-led cut is the job; consider Hobbyist at $24/month or $16/month billed annually ($192) for watermark-free 1080p export. Skip if your current editor already exports the needed cut and captions.
Starting cost
Free option; Hobbyist $24/month or $192 annually per person
Before you choose
Media hours and AI credits are separate allowances. Test what the free plan permits, confirm the paid export features before purchasing, and inspect the final file before delivery.

Checked 15 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Descript plans

Direct provider link; no affiliate tracking added by this publication. Link disclosure

Video production

CapCut

Consider it for
Edit existing media on Free $0 when the project has no Pro-tagged assets and a template outro can be deleted for watermark-free export; confirm Standard versus Pro feature split and live checkout before paying. Skip if you need remote multi-guest capture, or if your current editor already exports the required cut.
Starting cost
Confirm current in-app or web checkout; CapCut does not publish a single global price sheet on the public pricing URL we fetched 2026-09-15. Official help distinguishes Free (preview many features; Pro-tagged export can lock), Standard (mobile-focused editing, about 100GB cloud, basic AI), and Pro (cross-platform editing, up to 1TB cloud, premium/commercial assets, advanced AI).
Before you choose
Not a Riverside replacement: official help recaptured for this research does not document remote multi-guest capture. Watermark-free Free export is conditional on the project; Pro-tagged assets can still watermark or block export. Confirm checkout. No export reliability tests performed.

Checked 15 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View CapCut plans

Direct provider link; no affiliate tracking added by this publication. Link disclosure

Video production

Screen Studio

Consider it for
Optional paid macOS recorder for product demos and tutorials. Keep OBS if it already delivers the file. Confirm the live checkout.
Starting cost
Homepage offer markup lists 29 USD, checked 22 September 2026. The page also shows monthly and yearly billing. Confirm the live checkout.
Before you choose
Documentation research, not a firsthand recording. Affiliate terms checked 22 September 2026 pay 15% of the initial purchase price excluding taxes, with no recurring commission. Refunds can reverse commission.

Checked 22 Sep 2026 · Pricing source

View Screen Studio plans

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission on an eligible purchase. Link disclosure